Reviews

Here are some reviews from Schmechtig Landscapes’ clients.

“Have had Schmechtig Landscapes as our landscaper since moving into our home 15 years ago. They have done several large projects for us – removing trees and bushes and redesigning areas. October, 2018, we did another area of our yard. The designers were great with working with us to achieve the look we wanted. Redoing the plans several times to get what we wanted. When everything was planted and we didn’t like where a tree was planted, Mike Schmechtig wasted no time getting a crew out to replant it over a few feet. When we met with the designers to go over the plans drawn up, they had colored photos of every plant, tree and flower so we could see what their ideas were. Very helpful if the client doesn’t know plants and flowers. The crews are always polite and efficient. And the project manager stops over to check everything. On other projects in our yard, when something hasn’t lived, Schmechtig is quick to replace. I would not consider using another company.”

Houzz Reviewer: Fran Sachs
Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2018

“When you have a company that always gets back to you with your requests for what ever the issues are you have the service that you need to meet the overall quality at a competitive price that meets your needs. This company is so great that I have them in Lake Geneva and Glenview. Their staff that I work with is far better than anyone else that I have ever used in my 51 Years of Lawn maintenance. When they say they are going to do something it is accomplished on time.

Nothing more I could say other than they are just an outstanding company meeting Service, Quality, and total cost. They are truly a great company to work with day in and day out with total communication!”

Houzz Reviewer: James Paxton
Relationship: Client
Project Date: November 2018

“We have used the Schmechtig team for YEARS! Always responsive, considerate, professional, creative, did I say professional?
I think they take as much pride in my home as I do! Thanks Team!”

Houzz Reviewer: Kathy Hope
Relationship: Client
Project Date: November 2019

“I switched to Schmechtig Landscapes a couple of years ago for weekly mowing and grounds and irrigation service. I have been extremely pleased with the level of professionalism and responsiveness of this group. It is so nice to walk out my door and just enjoy our landscaping without having to worry about looking at weeds that need pulling. The company superintendent structure is laid out in such a way that you know exactly who to go to for what. Schmechtig has helped identify small things that need attention and always call me to them, but with my permission. I will have them working on several small projects soon and have enjoyed my experiences with Michael Schmechtig and Ling.”

Houzz Reviewer: Debbie Dellanina
Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2018

“We have used Schmechtig Landscaping for the past 23 years as our weekly lawn service and for all other landscaping needs throughout the 23 years . We have enjoyed their wonderful care of our lawn. The staff has always been professional and reliable.
We have never considered changing our landscape service. Why would we?? We already have the BEST…Sincerely The Hagers”

Houzz Reviewer: Debbie Hager
Relationship: Client
Project Date: May 2017

“This is a truly professional landscape company. From the initial design, estimate of work to be performed, installation date, completion date, everything developed like clockwork. We are very happy with the end product and what it took to get us there.”

Houzz Reviewer: Stuart Goldsand
Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2018

“We have a new construction house and basically started landscaping from scratch. Ling came up with a beautiful design and worked collaboratively with us to include our preferences. She was meticulous in her supervision of the project, making sure that every piece was placed perfectly. The result is amazing! Moreover, Brad, Francisco, and their crew were wonderful. We couldn’t be more pleased.”

Houzz Reviewer: ebheinbach
Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2018

“This team was the best we could have ever anticipated working with for our new home. They were timely, professional, honest and extremely kind. Their entire crew has the best work ethic and was a joy to have around for days on end. The landscape architects are brilliant and they created a dream outdoor home for us. We are so grateful for their hard work.”

Houzz Reviewer: anniemwatson17
Relationship: Client
Project Date: November 2017
Project Price: $50,000 – $100,000

“I have had the pleasure of working with Ling Ji since Schmechtig brought us in for landscape lighting, and she is outstanding. She is tremendously proactive and involved with every project, working toward a timely and quality installation every time. Ling is an effective liaison between the client and her partnering companies, taking into account myriad potential factors to ensure a seamless experience for all.”

Houzz Reviewer: Night Light, Inc.
Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: July 2017
Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

“Schmechtig was fantastic. Not only were they the most helpful in helping plan our patio project but their designs were exactly what we liked and the work was flawless. But the best compliment I can pay is how accessible Brian has been throughout the process. He always answered quickly, and when you’re working on a large project, that is unfortunately a very rare trait in contractors. He was also very flexible in terms of design changes and his attention to detail is spot on. “Yep, it’s on my list,” And he gets it done. We’re looking forward to future projects with Brian and Schmechtig.”

Client: Joe Kahn
Relationship: Client
Project Date: November 2016

“Schmechtig Landscapes and their team were excellent. Brian got my vision for the space and was able to bring it life exactly. He followed up with both jobs to ensure my satisfaction. A timely and efficient team that worked within my budget without issue.”

Houzz Reviewer: Elisabeth Wenner
Relationship: Client
Project Date: April 2016

“I cannot say enough about my experience while working with Brian and his team of professionals at Schmechtig Landscapes. Not only was Brian professional and knowledgeable, he was instrumental in making our landscaping project as beautiful as possible while staying within our budget. He listened to exactly what our vision was and made it even better than we could have imagined. The team of landscapers were extremely courteous and efficient. They did excellent brick work and planting. They continuously cleaned up after themselves and did not leave debris around the work site. We will be contacting Schmechtig next year to give us a quote for a backyard brick patio and firepit!”

Houzz Reviewer: disneybeth5
Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2015

“We hired Schmechtig to install pavers around our new pool. The workers were respectful, helpful and neat. Schmechtig Landscapes was especially helpful in the layout and design – adapting to our needs. Because of their wonderful work, this led to our hiring them for lighting and landscaping. The pool and surrounding area is beautiful.”

Houzz Reviewer: debi_belasco
Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2015

“We have been customers/clients of Schmechtig Landscapes for almost thirty years. In addition to providing outstanding lawn service during that time, company founder Klaus Schmechtig, his son Mike and our account executive Rob Sizer have completed numerous landscape design projects for us. We have always been delighted with their competence, their responsivenes and the quality of plant materials provided. We love our property, and we love the way that Schmechtig Landscapes has worked with us to design and maintain it.”

Houzz Reviewer: jnjablon
Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2014

“A highly creative team dedicated to detail and punctuality. They transformed our backyard beyond our dreams. Mark & Rob are so professional & easy to work with. Well worth the investment. Highly recommend!”

Houzz Reviewer: misslizz62
Relationship: Client
Project Date: September 2014

“Acted as the overall general contractor for work that included: new driveway, removal of old concrete sidewalk and porch and replacing with a paver sidewalk and new expanded paver porch. Pavers were also installed along each outer side of the driveway leading down to the street. New landscaping installed along the stone pathway to the backyard. New fire pit that was done with crushed granite and installation of Flagstone steppers with an outer ring of pavers that provided a nice edge. A Flagstone stepper walkway was installed leading from the side fence door to the back patio. The back patio was also removed and installed with new pavers that match the front. The team was very professional and made every effort to correct any areas that an issue arose so that everything match and blended well. New landscaping and grass was installed near the side door of the fence (inside the backyard). Very responsive to questions throughout the project. For example, a section of the pavers next to the driveway compressed and the team was dispatched to rework the area and we haven’t had an issue since.”

Houzz Reviewer: carolniec
Relationship: Client
Project Date: May 2014

“Schmechtig Landscape company did an incredible job on our front yard with both the hardscape and the landscape parts of the project. From start to finish they were creative, detailed, completely respectful of our time/budget, listened to what we wanted and completed the project in a timely manner. I give them a tremendous amount of credit for making our vision come to life. We couldn’t be happier with the end result. They are true professionals!”

Houzz Reviewer: Satisfied Client
Relationship: Client
Project Date: May 2019

“Highly recommend Schmechtig for your full care weekly lawn maintenance needs. We have the best lawn and landscape in the neighborhood thanks to the weekly care and attention the crew and the ongoing communication of the site manager. They also regularly do mini-projects for our established landscape as it needs updating and replacements to stay fresh and healthy. We’ve used them for 6-7 years now and love the service.”

Houzz Reviewer: Robyn McCarty
Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2018

“Competent and reliable staff and management. Quick response to questions, concerns and request for work. Friendly and very comfortable with them managing both our warm weather needs around he property as well as snow removal. Five stars.”

Houzz Reviewer: Nick Lucca
Relationship: Client
Project Date: April 2015

“Exceptional service and fair prices! Creative and flexible.
We continue to work with Schmechtig.

We have worked with Schmechtig for two summer / fall seasons, after researching many options on the north shore. We preferred to work with an insured company, while also looking for a more cost-effective option. Great, best company in a sea of local options for lawn maintenance and landscape / hardscape design. They do it all fairly, creatively and with a smile :)”

Houzz Reviewer: Lauren Peterson Edwards
Relationship: Client
Project Date: November 2018

“Schmechtig has been wonderful to work with. Their designers and maintenance crews are extremely professional and are willing to work collaboratively. I felt that they really listened to my needs and wants and were willing to work within those parameters. I would highly recommend them.”

Houzz Reviewer: Maggie Meiners
Relationship: Client
Project Date: August 2018
Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

“My job was for flooding backyard. The estimate was fast and appropriately priced. After signing the contract, work was started when promised. I have no more flooding–it is wonderful to look out my window and no longer see a pool of water in my yard. The job was done on time and very professionally. I later had a problem, they came out promptly to solve it. Excellent work!!”

Houzz Reviewer: Joyce Wood
Relationship: Client
Project Date: May 2018

“Full Service Landscaping Company. Excellent Landscape Design Team works hand in hand with installation and weekly maintenance. Warranties work and stands behind quality. Completes work in a timely manner. Consistent maintenance on same day every week.”

Houzz Reviewer: Gary Richman
Relationship: Client
Project Date: September 2018

“We worked with one of their designers (Ling) on the landscape and hardscape of our newly purchased house on Sheridan Rd. There were challenges here as the home is historical, in a very strict zoning district and would require extensive appeals with the city of Evanston. Ling was very helpful in all of those hurdles and produced an outdoor front & back to reflect the beauty of the home and the beauty of the location. We are very happy with the results and couldn’t have picked a better designer to make it happen.”

Houzz Reviewer: JHennessey
Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2017
Project Price: more than $100,000

“It has been a pleasure to have worked with Schmechtig landscapes on our project. Our landscape designer, Ling Ji was a delight to work with. From the beginning, she was extremely informative and responsive to our requests. She worked with the landscape crew to make sure that all work was done properly and in a timely manner. The attention to detail, communication, timeliness and quality of work is extraordinary. We are beyond pleased with how the project turned out and look forward to seeing the landscape mature!”

Houzz Reviewer: anujapatel
Relationship: Client
Project Date: April 2017
Project Price: $50,000 – $100,000

“We were very satisfied with the service Schmechtig provided. They were professional, timely, responsive, and had good ideas overall. I would highly recommend them to anyone. Ling was great, as was Brian and the entire crew of workers. We love our new front AND backyard!”

Houzz Reviewer: falkfest
Relationship: Client
Project Date: September 2016

“Brian of Schmechtig collaborated with us to design an artistically beautiful landscape. He and his crew were responsive, timely and always pleasant. The end result is a true “traffic-stopper”, while maintaining a natural grace.”

Houzz Reviewer: ermccoy
Relationship: Client
Project Date: August 2016

“Had drainage issues on the side and along the back of our yard. Worked with another company last year that put in a swale but it was not effective. After having a few other landscaping companies out and not being very impressed, found Schmechtig online and asked them to come out. Brian Robinson at Schmechtig offered us a solution for our issue that was not only practical but also helped beautify the yard by 1.) making the swale into a pseudo riverbed with rocks; and 2.) adding plants and flowers along the side and back.

“Once the job was scheduled, they were able to finish within just over a day. About a week later we noticed that while the swale was working, our design did not have the rocks for the swale going all the way to the top. Therefore, there were unsightly indentations in the mud that took away from the design. Brian at Schmechtig offered to drop by some extra rocks and materials so we could extend the “riverbed” portion of the swale at no additional cost. We greatly appreciated them offering to do so.

“All in all we found Schmechtig Landscapes to be a very professional landscaping company that offered ideas to solve our backyard issue that no other firm we contacted had mentioned. We would highly recommend them for your landscaping needs and intend to contact them in the future should we require further landscaping work at our home.”

Houzz Reviewer: brianjwhite
Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2015

“I have used the Schmechtig landscape for over 22 years. I trust them with all my landscape needs – irrigation, lawn maintenance and snowplowing. There is very little turn over so I am able to work with the same managers and design people over many seasons.

“I have used their design services for small “facelift ” projects. They also designed and created a beautiful landscape for a house we built. It included a tiered wall basement walkout which was stunning.

“I just finished the Fall portion of a 2 season project for the small back yard of my current home. I am working with a great designer and the landscape manager for my area. The 3 of us get along beautifully! We came up with a plan that meets all the items on my “wish list “. When it is finished in the Spring, I will have 2 seating areas in a cottage atmosphere. I can’t wait!”

Houzz Reviewer: autumn345
Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2014

“Nick was wonderful to work with! He was very knowledgable and kept us unformed as to when the work would be done. It turned out exactly as we had hoped!”

Houzz Reviewer: sloanj0412
Relationship: Client
Project Date: July 2014

“Rob and Mark were excellent to work with and their design has transformed our yard. Thoughtful and professional approach. Highly recommend.”

Houzz Reviewer: Doug Balsam
Relationship: Client
Project Date: November 2013

“We had a great experience with Schmechtig. They listened to our needs, created a plan for us, and executed it to perfection. The entire staff was extremely professional and I look forward to working with them again in the future.”

Houzz Reviewer: flourishgifts
Relationship: Client
Project Date: September 2012

“Schmectig Landscape attends to all of our landscape needs, irrigation start up, mid season inspection shut down and snow removal. Nick is our go to person for landscaping needs and responds to emails in a timely fashion and personally meets with me a few times a season. I have also used Schmectig to install a brick and limestone patio with additional landscaping and have had rave reviews on the finished product from golfers passing our home. ( We live on a golf course ) I have had a few issues with my irrigation system and even over a weekend they will send someone out to repair it. As for snow removal, they are A+.”

Houzz Reviewer: wsteinbe
Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2005